russian Chinese (Simplified) English filipino italian japanese Korean malay thai vietnamese
Information publication Central Bank reported anomalous drop in imports
October 11 2018

Central Bank reported anomalous drop in imports

(0 votes)
Rate this item
Central Bank reported anomalous drop in imports

The Central Bank reported a drop in imports in the third quarter compared to the same period last year. Experts interviewed by Vedomosti notice that imports have also declined in quarterly terms, and call the situation abnormal
The fall in imports of goods, which the Central Bank reported the day before, is anomalous. This conclusion was reached by experts interviewed by the Vedomosti newspaper. Last Tuesday, the regulator reported that imports for the third quarter fell to $ 63 billion from $ 63,8 billion in the same period a year earlier.
In particular, Oleg Solntsev from the Center for Macroeconomic Analysis and Short-Term Forecasting (CMASF) notes that imports are highly susceptible to seasonality and in the second half of the year it usually begins to grow at an accelerated rate. However, he notes, imports fell in annual terms and to the previous quarter, and calls this situation anomalous.
The expert noted that a similar situation, in which imports in the third quarter decreased in quarterly terms, was observed for the last time in 2014, at the height of the crisis. If these are not statistical errors, the markets "do not accept" imported goods, he warns.
Natalia Orlova, chief economist at Alfa Bank, pays attention to the unusual situation. In an interview with the publication, she noted that amid the growth of the economy, imports should traditionally grow. In her opinion, the fall in imports may portend a slowdown in final demand, as evidenced by the weak dynamics of stocks of enterprises in the second quarter. Another reason, she said, could be a drop in imports of investment goods due to the completion of large state construction projects, such as the Crimean Bridge.
The third interlocutor of Vedomosti, the director of the analytical department of Loko-invest, Kirill Tremasov, agrees with the previous experts. According to him, historically, a drop in imports was observed in times of crisis, when the ruble devalued and demand fell. So it was from the fourth quarter of 2013 on the second quarter of 2016, and before that - in 2009, he recalls. For the first time in modern history, imports fell, and exports grew rapidly. This is a consequence of suppressed domestic demand, both investment and consumer, the expert believes.

RBC

read 489 time

Russian Chinese (Simplified) English Filipino Italian Japanese Korean Malay Thai Vietnamese
Информация Публикации Центробанк отчитался об аномальном падении импорта
11 Октябрь 2018

Центробанк отчитался об аномальном падении импорта

  
(0 голосов)
Оцените материал
Центробанк отчитался об аномальном падении импорта

Центробанк отчитался о падении импорта в III квартале по сравнению с аналогичным периодом прошлого года. Эксперты, опрошенные «Ведомостями», замечают, что импорт снизился и в квартальном выражении, и называют ситуацию аномальной
Падение импорта товаров, о котором накануне отчитался Центробанк, является аномальным. К такому выводу пришли опрошенные газетой «Ведомости» эксперты. В минувший вторник регулятор сообщил, что импорт товаров за третий квартал сократился до $63 млрд с $63,8 млрд за тот же период годом ранее.
В частности, Олег Солнцев из Центра макроэкономического анализа и краткосрочного прогнозирования (ЦМАКП) обращает внимание, что импорт сильно подвержен сезонности и во втором полугодии он обычно начинает расти ускоренными темпами. Однако, замечает он, импорт упал в годовом выражении и к предыдущему кварталу, и называет такую ситуацию аномальной.
Эксперт заметил, что подобная ситуация, при которой импорт в третьем квартале снижался в квартальном выражении, наблюдалась в последний раз в 2014 году — в разгар кризиса. Если это не ошибки статистики, рынки «не принимают» импортные товары, предупреждает он.
На необычность ситуации обращает внимание и главный экономист Альфа-банка Наталия Орлова. В беседе с изданием она заметила, что на фоне роста экономики традиционно должен расти и импорт. По ее мнению, падение импорта может предвещать замедление конечного спроса, о чем говорит и слабая динамика запасов предприятий во втором квартале. Другой причиной, по ее словам, может быть падение импорта инвестиционных товаров из-за завершения крупных государственных строек, например Крымского моста.
С предыдущими экспертами соглашается и третий собеседник «Ведомостей» — директор аналитического департамента «Локо-инвеста» Кирилл Тремасов. По его словам, исторически падение импорта наблюдалось в периоды кризисов, когда девальвировался рубль и падал спрос. Так было с четвертого квартала 2013 года по второй квартал 2016-го, а до этого — в 2009 году, напоминает он. Впервые в новейшей истории импорт снижался, а экспорт бурно рос. Это следствие задавленного внутреннего спроса, как инвестиционного, так и потребительского, считает эксперт.

РБК

Прочитано 712 раз