russian Chinese (Simplified) English filipino italian japanese Korean malay thai vietnamese
Information International rules and organization IMO / IMO

The International Maritime Organization / IMO

IMOThe International Maritime Organization, or IMO (International Maritime Organization, IMO) is an international intergovernmental organization, is a specialized agency of the UN, is the unit for cooperation and exchange of information on technical issues related to international commercial shipping.

The rapid development of international trade relations in the early XIX century, contributed to the ratification of a huge number of international agreements relating to maritime safety. Take a variety of agreements on preventing Collisions, Tonnage Measurement of Ships,

By the end of the XIX century it was proposed to start a permanent trade association, for the consideration of the operational safety of navigation tasks. In 1888, the Nordic countries, a proposal was made to proceed to the creation of the International Maritime Bureau to solve the technical problems of seaworthiness.

The result was the founding of the International Maritime Committee in 1897, engaged in the consideration of the law of the sea. The Committee adopted several conventions (commonly known as "Brussels"), later taken as the basis of modern.

In Geneva, March 6 1948, at a conference convened by the United Nations adopted Convention on the Intergovernmental Maritime Consultative Organization (IMCO) (Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization, IMCO).

It was the first international body designed to deal exclusively with maritime issues. March 17 1958, the Convention entered into force and the newly created organization started its activities, the organization determined the following important points.

1. Provide a mechanism for cooperation in the field of technical regulation of practical issues affecting the international commercial transportation.

2. Promote and encourage the harmonization of the maximum practicable standards of maritime safety sphere, not marine pollution from ships, efficiency of navigation.

3. Consider the legal and administrative tasks related goals enshrined in Article.

In 9-th session of the Assembly (Resolution A.358 (IX)) its name has been changed since it was assumed that the term "advisory" could mistakenly be interpreted as a limitation of authority or responsibility, respectively, of the title "intergovernmental" - indirectly, caused suspicion and mistrust.

Based on these considerations, the replacement of the name on the International Maritime Organization was absolutely necessary to enhance the role of the IMO on an international level in order to place the responsibility for the implementation of various international conventions, the establishment of standards and norms related to the preservation of human life and the aquatic environment from intentional or unintentional contamination.

Already since May 22 1982 years its current name acts The International Maritime Organization, or IMO. Its headquarters is located in London.

IMO activities are aimed at the abolition of discriminatory practices affecting international merchant shipping, as well as the adoption of standards (standards) to ensure maritime safety and the prevention of pollution from ships environmental protection, primarily of the marine environment.

In a sense, organization is a forum in which the state - members of the organization share information, discuss the legal, technical and other issues relating to navigation, as well as pollution from ships environmental protection, especially of the marine environment.

As of the year 2016, 171 is IMO Member States and Associate Members 3 (Faroe Islands, Hong Kong, Macau). The supreme body of the organization is the Assembly of Member States. Sessions of the Assembly meet once a year 2.

Member states of the International Maritime Organization

Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Bahrain, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Vanuatu, Hungary Venezuela, Vietnam, Gabon, Guyana, Haiti, Gambia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Germany, Honduras, Hong Kong (China), Grenada, Greece, Georgia, Denmark, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic , Egypt, Israel, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Iraq, Iran, Ireland, Iceland Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Guatemala, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Madagascar, Mauritania, Macao (China), Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mexico, Monaco, Mozambique, Mongolia , Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Netherlands, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Norway, United Republic of Tanzania the highlight of Tanzania, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, the Republic of Macedonia, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Romania, Samoa, San Marino, San Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Senegal, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Serbia and Montenegro, Singapore, Syrian Arab Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Solom ONES Islands, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sierra Leone, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uruguay Faroe Islands Fiji, the Philippines, Finland, France, Croatia, Czech Republic, Chile, Switzerland, Sweden, Sri Lanka, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, South Africa, Jamaica, Japan.

There is also the IMO Council, consisting of 40 states, which include Russia. States are divided into three large groups: 10 leading maritime nations, 10 other states, significant from the point of view of international maritime trade and sea 20 States elected to the Council in order to ensure geographical representation of the various regions of the world. In addition to the Assembly within the framework of the IMO are 5 committees:

on the Maritime Safety Committee (Maritime Safety Committee, MSC - MSC);
the Marine Environment Protection Committee (Marine Environment Protection Committee, MEPC - MEPC);
Legal Committee (LEG - YURKOM);
Technical Cooperation Committee (CCC);
to facilitate navigation formalities Committee (FAL);

9 and subcommittees (consisting of MSC or MEPC) and the Secretariat headed by the Secretary General. Since 2012, the representative of Japan Koji Sekimidzu was elected General Secretary.

All regulatory and legal documents prepared in subcommittees and considered at the session of the Committee considered and adopted, as a rule, at the regular sessions of the Assembly. The most serious, strategic decisions can make decisions organized by the IMO diplomatic conference.

IMO takes decisions in the form of the Organization's resolutions, to which, if necessary, various documents (codes, circular letters, amendments to existing documents - conventions, codes, etc.) can be attached. Subject to the conditions and terms of entry into force, such mandatory decisions must be implemented by the Administrations (the Governments of the member countries). The decisions of the IMO Assembly that do not change or supplement the adopted conventions are of a recommendatory nature and can be carried out by the national maritime administrations by including decisions (or making their own decisions on them) in national legislation.

Organization's activities

The first IMO task was to adopt a new version SOLAS Convention (International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea, SOLAS - SOLAS)The most important of all the conventions dealing with maritime safety. The Convention was concluded in 1960, after which the IMO has directed its attention to issues such as the promotion of international maritime transport (Convention on Facilitation of International Maritime Traffic 1965 years), determining the position of the load line (Convention on Load marke1966 year) and the transport of dangerous goods, it has also been revised system for measuring tonnage (International Convention on tonnage measurement of ships 1969 years).

November 1 1974, at the International Conference on Safety of Life at Sea, SOLAS new text was adopted. In 1988, at the International Conference on the harmonized system of survey and certification was adopted by the Protocol to the Convention. In 1992, the IMO issued a so-called consolidated text of the SOLAS Convention.

Although safety at sea has been and remains the most important task of the IMO, in the middle of 60-ies to the fore began to leave the problem of environmental pollution, especially marine. Growth in the number of oil transported by sea, as well as the size of the oil carrying vessels caused particular problems bespokoystvo.Masshtab accident showed the tanker Torrey Canyon, which occurred in the year 1967, 120 000 when got tons of oil into the sea.

Over the next few years, the IMO has adopted a number of measures aimed at preventing tanker accidents and minimizing the consequences of these accidents. The organization also took environmental pollution caused by actions such as cleaning oil tanks and machinery spaces dumping of waste - the tonnage they cause more harm than pollution resulting from accidents.

The most important of these measures was the International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships (MARPOL 73 / 78) (International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships, MARPOL)It was adopted in the year 1973, 1978 and modified by the Protocol of the year. It covers not only cases of emergency and / or operational oil pollution but also pollution of the sea by liquid chemicals, harmful substances in packaged form, by sewage, garbage and pollution to air pollution vessels.

In 1990 year has also been prepared and signed the International Convention for preparedness in case of oil pollution, Response and Cooperation.

In addition, IMO has decided the task of creating a system designed to ensure compensation to those who suffered financially due to contamination. Matching two multilateral agreements (International Convention on Civil Liability for Oil Pollution Damage and the International Convention on the Establishment of an International Fund for Compensation for Oil Pollution Damage) were adopted and the 1969 1971, respectively. They simplify and speed up the procedure for obtaining compensation for pollution.

Both Conventions were revised and again 1992 2000 in the year, which increased the limits of compensation payable to victims of pollution. Under the auspices of IMO also prepared and continue to prepare a large number of other international agreements and documents on matters affecting international shipping.

Huge progress made in communication technology have made it possible to produce lasting improvements in the maritime distress rescue system. In 1970-ies was put in place a global system for search and rescue distress. Then there was established the International Mobile Satellite Organization (International Maritime Satellite Organization, INMARSAT -INMARSAT), which seriously improved the conditions for the transfer of radio and other communications to and from ships at sea.

In 1978, IMO established the World Maritime Day to draw attention to the problem of safety at sea and preservation of marine resources.

In 1992 it was identified stages of the implementation of the Global Maritime Distress and Safety System (GMDSS) (Global Maritime Distress and Safety System, GMDSS). Since February 1999, the GMDSS was fully operational and now tolerate any point of the globe vessel in distress can get help, even if the crew does not have time to broadcast a signal for help, because the corresponding message will be sent automatically.

Other measures developed by the IMO, the Container Security, bulk cargo, tankers for the transport of liquefied natural gas, as well as other types of vessels.

Special attention was paid to the training standards of the crew, including the adoption of a special International Convention on Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (International Convention for the Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping, STCW - STCW), which entered into force in April 28 1984 years. In 1995, the STCW Convention was significantly revised. Significant changes in the content of the STCW Convention have been made later, including 2010 year at a conference in Manila (Philippines).

Currently it recommended to call a convention "STCW as amended,» (STCW as amended).
In 1983, the IMO in Malmö (Sweden) was founded by the World Maritime University, which provides training leaders, teachers and other professionals in the field of navigation.

In 1989 year in Valletta (Malta) was created by the International Institute of Marine IMO law, which trains lawyers in international law of the sea. At the same time in Trieste (Italy) it was founded by the International Maritime Academy, conducting specialized short-term courses on various maritime disciplines.

Russian Chinese (Simplified) English Filipino Italian Japanese Korean Malay Thai Vietnamese
Информация Международные правила и организации ИМО / IMO


Международная морская организация / ИМО

IMOМеждународная морская организация или ИМО (International Maritime Organization, IMO) это международная межправительственная организация, является специализированным учреждением ООН, служит аппаратом для сотрудничества и обмена информацией по техническим вопросам, связанным с международным торговым судоходством.

Стремительное развитие международных торговых отношений в начале XIX века способствовало ратификации огромного числа межгосударственных соглашений, касающихся безопасности мореплавания. Принимались различные соглашения об предупреждению столкновений судов, обмере судов,

К концу XIX столетия поступило предложение приступить к созданию постоянного отраслевого объединения, для рассмотрения задач эксплуатационной безопасности судоходства. В 1888, странами Скандинавии было выдвинуто предложение приступить к созданию Международного Морского Бюро для того чтобы разрешить проблемы мореходности технического характера.

Результатом стало основание Морского Международного Комитета в 1897, занимавшегося рассмотрением тем морского права. Комитетом принято несколько конвенций (широко известных как "Брюссельские"), позднее взятых за основу современных.

В Женеве 6 марта 1948 года на конференции, созванной Организацией Объединенных Наций была принята Конвенция о Межправительственной морской консультативной организации (ИМКО) (Inter-Governmental Maritime Consultative Organization, IMCO).

Это был первый в истории международный орган, призванный заниматься исключительно морскими вопросами. 17 марта 1958 года конвенция вступила в силу и вновь созданная организация приступила к своей деятельности, организацией определялись следующие важные  пункты.

1. Обеспечить механизм сотрудничества в области практического регулирования технических вопросов, затрагивающих международные коммерческие перевозки.

2. Содействовать и поощрять унификацию практически осуществимых максимальных норм сферы морской безопасности, не загрязнения моря с судов, эффективности мореплавания.

3. Рассматривать правовые и административные задачи, соответствующие закрепленным статьей целям.

На 9-й сессии Ассамблеи организации (Резолюция A.358(IX)) её название было изменено так как предполагалось, что термин "консультативная" могло ошибочно трактоваться как ограничение полномочий или ответственности, соответственно часть названия "межправительственная" - косвенно, вызывало подозрения и недоверие.

Исходя из перечисленных соображений, замена имени на Международную Морскую Организацию являлось совершенно необходимым для повышения роли ММО на международном уровне, с целью возложить ответственность за внедрение различных международных конвенций, создание стандартов, норм, имеющих отношение к сохранению человеческой жизни и водной среды от преднамеренного или непреднамеренного загрязнения.

Уже с 22 мая 1982 года действует её нынешнее название Международная морская организация или ИМО. Штаб-квартира организации расположена в Лондоне.

Деятельность ИМО направлена на отмену дискриминационных действий, затрагивающих международное торговое судоходство, а также принятие норм (стандартов) по обеспечению безопасности на море и предотвращению загрязнения с судов окружающей среды, в первую очередь, морской среды. 

В определенном смысле организация  является форумом, в котором государства - члены этой организации обмениваются информацией, обсуждают правовые, технические и иные проблемы, касающиеся судоходства, а также загрязнения с судов окружающей среды, в первую очередь морской среды.

По состоянию на 2016 год, в ИМО состоит 171 государств-членов и 3 ассоциированных члена (Фарерские острова, Гонконг, Макао). Высшим органом организации является Ассамблея государств-членов. Сессии Ассамблеи собираются раз в 2 года.

Государства-члены Международной морской организации

Австралия, Австрия, Азербайджан, Албания, Алжир, Ангола, Антигуа и Барбуда, Аргентина, Багамские Острова, Бангладеш,Барбадос, Бахрейн, Белиз, Бельгия, Бенин, Болгария, Боливия, Босния и Герцеговина, Бразилия, Бруней-Даруссалам,Вануату, Венгрия, Венесуэла, Вьетнам, Габон, Гаити, Гайана, Гамбия, Гана, Гватемала, Гвинея, Гвинея-Бисау, Германия,Гондурас, Гонконг (Китай), Гренада, Греция, Грузия, Дания, Демократическая Республика Конго, Джибути, Доминика,Доминиканская Республика, Египет, Израиль, Индия, Индонезия, Иордания, Ирак, Иран , Ирландия, Исландия, Испания,Италия, Йемен, Кабо-Верде, Казахстан, Камбоджа, Камерун, Канада, Катар, Кения, Кипр, Китай, Колумбия, Коморские Острова, Конго, Корейская Народно-Демократическая Республика, Коста-Рика, Кот-д'Ивуар, Куба, Кувейт, Латвия, Либерия,Ливан, Ливийская Арабская Джамахирия, Литва, Люксембург, Маврикий, Мавритания, Мадагаскар, Макао (Китай), Малави,Малайзия, Мальдивские Острова, Мальта, Марокко, Маршалловы Острова, Мексика, Мозамбик, Монако, Монголия, Мьянма,Намибия, Непал, Нигерия, Нидерланды, Никарагуа, Новая Зеландия, Норвегия, Объединенная Республика Танзания,Объединенные Арабские Эмираты, Оман, Пакистан, Панама, Папуа-Новая Гвинея, Парагвай, Перу, Польша, Португалия,Республика Корея, Республика Македония, Республика Молдова, Российская Федерация, Румыния, Сальвадор, Самоа, Сан-Марино, Сан-Томе и Принсипи, Саудовская Аравия, Сейшельские Острова, Сенегал, Сент-Винсент и Гренадины, Сент-Китс и Невис, Сент-Люсия, Сербия и Черногория, Сингапур, Сирийская Арабская Республика, Словакия, Словения, Соединенное Королевство Великобритании и Северной Ирландии, Соединенные Штаты Америки, Соломоновы Острова, Сомали, Судан,Суринам, Сьерра-Леоне, Таиланд, Того, Тонга, Тринидад и Тобаго, Тунис, Туркменистан, Турция, Украина, Уругвай, Фарерские Острова Фиджи, Филиппины, Финляндия, Франция, Хорватия, Чешская Республика, Чили, Швейцария, Швеция, Шри-Ланка,Эквадор, Экваториальная Гвинея, Эритрея, Эстония, Эфиопия, Южная Африка, Ямайка, Япония.

Имеется также Совет ИМО, состоящий из 40 государств, в число которых входит Россия. Государства разделены на три большие группы: 10 ведущих морских государств, 10 иных государств, значительных с точки зрения международной морской торговли, и 20 морских государств, избранных в Совет с целью обеспечения географического представительства различных регионов мира. Помимо Ассамблеи в рамках ИМО действуют 5 комитетов:

Комитет по безопасности на море (Maritime Safety Committee, MSC - КБМ);
Комитет по защите морской среды (Marine Environment Protection Committee, MEPC - КЗМС);
Юридический комитет (LEG - ЮРКОМ);
Комитет по техническому сотрудничеству (КТС);
Комитет по облегчению формальностей судоходства (FAL);

и 9 подкомитетов (в составе КБМ или КЗМС) и секретариат во главе с Генеральным секретарем. С 2012 г. Генеральным секретарем был избран представитель Японии Кодзи Секимидзу.

Все нормативные и правовые документы, подготовленные в подкомитетах и рассмотренные на сессиях комитетов, рассматриваются и принимаются, как правило, на очередных сессиях Ассамблеи Организации. Наиболее серьёзные, стратегические решения могут приниматься решениями организуемых ИМО Дипломатических Конференций.

ИМО принимает решения в форме Резолюций Организации, к которым при необходимости могут прилагаться различные документы (кодексы, циркулярные письма, поправки к действующим документам - конвенции, кодексу и т. п.). С учетом оговариваемых условий и сроков вступления в силу такие обязательные решения должны внедряться Администрациями (Правительствами стран-членов). Решения Ассамблеи ИМО, не изменяющие или дополняющие принятые конвенции, носят рекомендательный характер и могут выполняться национальными морскими администрациями путём включения решений (или создания на их основе собственных решений) в национальное законодательство.

Деятельность организации

Первая задача ИМО состояла в том, чтобы принять новую версию Международной конвенции по охране человеческой жизни на море (International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea, SOLAS - СОЛАС), наиболее важной из всех конвенций, имеющих дело с безопасностью на море. Конвенция была заключена в 1960 году, после чего ИМО направила своё внимание к таким вопросам как содействие международным морским перевозкам (Конвенция по облегчению международного морского судоходства 1965 года), определению положения грузовой марки (Конвенция о грузовой марке1966 года) и перевозке опасных грузов, была также пересмотрена система измерения тоннажа судов (Международная Конвенция по обмеру судов 1969 года).

1 ноября 1974 года на Международной конференции по охране человеческой жизни на море был принят новый текст Конвенции СОЛАС. В 1988 году на Международной конференции по гармонизированной системе освидетельствования и оформления свидетельств был принят Протокол к этой Конвенции. В 1992 году в ИМО был издан так называемый Консолидированный текст Конвенции СОЛАС.

Хотя безопасность на море была и остается наиболее важной задачей ИМО, в середине 60-х годов  на первый план стала выходить проблема загрязнение окружающей среды, в первую очередь морской. Рост количества нефтепродуктов, транспортируемых морским путём, а также размеров перевозящих эти нефтепродукты судов вызывал особое беспокойство.Масштаб проблемы продемонстрировала авария танкера Torrey Canyon, произошедшая в 1967 году, когда в море попало 120 000 тонн нефти.

В течение следующих нескольких лет ИМО приняла ряд мер, направленных на предотвращение аварий танкеров, а также минимизацию последствий этих аварий. Организация также занялась загрязнением окружающей среды, вызываемым такими действиями, как чистка нефтяных танков, а также сбросом отходов машинных помещений - по тоннажу они причиняют больше вреда, чем загрязнение вследствие аварий.

Наиболее важной из этих мер стала Международная конвенция по предотвращению загрязнения с судов (МАРПОЛ 73/78) (International Convention for the Prevention of Pollution from Ships, MARPOL), она было принятая в 1973 году, и измененная Протоколом 1978 года. Она охватывает не только случаи аварийного и/или эксплуатационного загрязнения окружающей среды нефтепродуктами, но также и загрязнение моря жидкими химическими веществами, вредными веществами в упакованной форме, льяльными водами, мусором и загрязнение с судов воздушной среды.

В 1990 году была также подготовлена и подписана Международная конвенция по обеспечению готовности на случай загрязнения нефтью, борьбе с ним и сотрудничеству.

Помимо этого ИМО решала задачу создания системы, направленной на обеспечение компенсации тем, кто в результате загрязнения пострадал материально. Соответствующие два многосторонних соглашения (Международная конвенция о гражданской ответственности за ущерб от загрязнения нефтью и Международная конвенция о создании Международного фонда для компенсации ущерба от загрязнения нефтью) были приняты в 1969 и 1971 годах, соответственно. Они упростили и ускорили процедуру получения компенсации за загрязнение.

Обе Конвенции были пересмотрены в 1992 и еще раз в 2000 году, что позволило увеличить пределы компенсации, подлежащей выплате пострадавшим от загрязнения. Под эгидой ИМО также готовилось и продолжает готовится большое число других международных соглашений и документов по вопросам, затрагивающим международное судоходство.

Огромные успехи, сделанные в технологии связи, дали возможность произвести серьёзные усовершенствования в морской системе спасения при бедствии. В 1970-х годах была введена в действие глобальная система поиска и спасения при бедствии. Тогда же была создана Международная организация подвижной спутниковой связи (International Maritime Satellite Organization, INMARSAT -ИНМАРСАТ), которая серьёзно улучшила условия передачи радио- и других сообщений с и на суда, находящиеся в море.

В 1978 году ИМО учредила Всемирный день моря с целью привлечь внимание к проблеме безопасности на море и сохранения морских биоресурсов.

В 1992 году были определены этапы внедрения Глобальной морской системы связи при бедствии и для обеспечении безопасности (ГМССБ)(Global Maritime Distress and Safety System, GMDSS). С февраля 1999 года ГМССБ была полностью введена в эксплуатацию и теперь терпящее в любой точке земного шара бедствие судно может получить помощь, даже если экипаж судна не имеет времени передать по радио сигнал о помощи, поскольку соответствующее сообщение будет передано автоматически.

Другие меры, разработанные ИМО, касались безопасности контейнеров, насыпных грузов, танкеров, предназначенных для перевозки сжиженного газа, а также других типов судов. 

Специальное внимание было уделено стандартам обучения членов экипажа, включая принятие специальной Международной конвенции о подготовке и дипломировании моряков и несении вахты (International Convention for the Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping, STCW - ПДМНВ), вступившая в силу 28 апреля 1984 года. В 1995 году Конвенция ПДМНВ была значительно переработана. Значительные изменения в содержание конвенции ПДМНВ были внесены и позднее, в том числе в 2010 году на конференции в г. Манила (Филиппины).

В настоящее время рекомендовано именовать конвенцию «ПДМНВ с поправками» (STCW as amended).
В 1983 году ИМО в Мальме (Швеция) был основан Всемирный морской университет, обеспечивающий повышение квалификации руководителей, преподавателей и других специалистов в области судоходства.

В 1989 году в Валетта (Мальта) был создан Международный институт морского права ИМО, который готовит юристов в области международного морского права. Тогда же в Триесте (Италия) была основана Международная морская академия, проводящая специализированные краткосрочные курсы по различным морским дисциплинам.